EP82 20v conversion Help

Hi, Im new to on this forum. Not sure if this the correect section to post this?

I'm in the middle of doing a 20v conversion on a ep82, I need advise on driveshafts. I have the engine hanging in the engine bay, I have tried several different toyota shafts with no luck yet of matching two to suit lengths needed. Anybody done this and know what combination of shafts work? Making custom mounts isnt a problem.

Thanks

Depending on how you mount the engine depends on your options.

If youre willing to cut the chassis at the cambelt end you can use stock starlet shafts.

If not and you opt to mount the gearbox under the chassis rail you can run a ae92-101-111 driveshaft on the engine side but you will need to modify the hubs to suit a different bearing and corolla stub axle so the CV joint fits. The otherside still needs to be custom though

Option 3. Mount the engine how ever and use Custom shafts with starlet outer CV joints.

I went with option 2 after snapping a home brew driveshaft

Thanks for reply, thats very helpful

I looked at cutting cambelt side but it looks like there wouldnt be chassis leg left after to clear everything, would need major strengthening too.

Option 2 sounds good, when you say custom did you have one made up? I looked at bearing/stub axle combinations and couldnt find one to work out on paper, is there a straight swap or does hub need machining?

Also have been thinking would there be a slightly longer lower arm to suit ep82 chassis giving a little bit more room to get a oem shaft combo to work out

I didnt fancy cutting mine either but it has been done by some people so thought id mention it.

I cant remember the exact sizing but i used a VW passat bearing of some description machined the hub out to 72mm iirc and that allowed me to fit a slightly shortened ae92 stub axle. I do now need a washer under the axle nut though but thats not an issue.