Jump to content


Photo

Plugs are black - faulty lamda


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 turbominicooper

turbominicooper

    Boosting a Starlet

  • 632 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location:UK
Joined: 09-May 13

Posted 17 June 2017 - 03:03 PM

Just recently finished a 2e to 4efte conversion.

When the car runs it smells very rich and is quite smokey.

On the 2e it had a 2 wire lambda and ov the 4efte one is single wire.

Is it likely to be faulty lambda?

Pretty sure I traced the correct wire to the ecu for the sensor.

5EFHTE TF035 / EMB / HKS SSQV / HKS HI-POWER SILENT / BLITZ SUS / PROFEC E01 / KINUGAWA

 

How I built my EP82 - https://www.youtube....asOxxr5zjYuBKEV


#2 maerijn

maerijn

    Member

  • 85 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location:Netherlands
Joined: 25-November 14

Posted 17 June 2017 - 07:16 PM

All 4 plugs black? Could be bad lambda, water sensor or othet things. Is the ecu giving any codes

#3 5e colin

5e colin

    UKSO Elite

  • 6361 posts
Joined: 04-December 12

Posted 17 June 2017 - 07:24 PM

Or ecu temp sensor and map sensor

#4 Ollieh17

Ollieh17

    UKSO Elite

  • 5007 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location:Gloucester
Joined: 26-June 13

Posted 18 June 2017 - 08:12 AM

I doubt it's lambda. I ran mine without for ages and made no difference on the wideband

#5 turbominicooper

turbominicooper

    Boosting a Starlet

  • 632 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location:UK
Joined: 09-May 13

Posted 18 June 2017 - 09:10 AM

I'll revisit the wiring. Cheers fellas

5EFHTE TF035 / EMB / HKS SSQV / HKS HI-POWER SILENT / BLITZ SUS / PROFEC E01 / KINUGAWA

 

How I built my EP82 - https://www.youtube....asOxxr5zjYuBKEV


#6 Patches

Patches

    Boosting a Starlet

  • 555 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location:Glasgow
Joined: 15-November 12

Posted 21 June 2017 - 08:22 AM

Running no lambda and a faulty one are 2 different things. If there's no lambda plugged in then the ecu knows that and runs a slightly richer map for safety.

 

If the lambda is faulty giving wrong readings then the ecu will try to fuel according to that reading.

 

My lambda sensor was reading rich constantly so my ecu was underfuelling the car causing it to run like shit. Unplugged the sensor and it ran fine.



#7 Ollieh17

Ollieh17

    UKSO Elite

  • 5007 posts
  • Gender: Male
  • Location:Gloucester
Joined: 26-June 13

Posted 21 June 2017 - 11:12 AM

Car didn't run differently on the wideband with no lambda and a working lambda..

Could just be my car but never noticed a difference. With or without idled at 14.5-15




Welcome Guest, to UK Starlet Owners!
Please Login or Register to be apart of the club!