How 2: Wire A Rev Gauge

Until today I myself was a complete beginner to wiring, hadn't touched it before, didn't have the slightest idea what to do or how to do it.

Here is a guide on how to wire a basic rev gauge (tachometer/rev counter/rpm gauge/whatever else you like to call it).

It may be a bit long-winded but I'll try to include every little detail so anyone who is clueless like I was can do it with ease.

What you will need other than the gauge itself:

• wire (get a good length of it)
  • straight wire connectors (the spade type ones are what I used)
  • block wire connectors (for splicing into other wires, can't think of a way to describe them)
  • "U shape" connector for the ground wire
  • tape (for taping wires together and securing joints)
  • wire cutters/pliers/scissors (either one will do)
  • screwdrivers
  • and maybe a torch

You can buy all the wires and the connectors you'll need from Maplin for no more than £10 at the very most.

You might need a torch if you need to go under the dash.

Ok, first you'll want to take out the passenger side panel (the glovebox), there are 4 or 5 screws/bolts then you just pull the whole thing out, be careful there isn't anything heavy in the glovebox as it will fall open when you do this.

Once that is out of the way, you'll want to measure up roughly the lengths of the wires, and where you want to position your gauge.

I put my gauge to the right hand side of the dashboard, next to the A pillar, and have pushed the wires down the tiny gap between the A pillar and the dashboard. This has made it nice and neat and there are no wires showing anywhere.

I have all my wires underneath the dash, for this bit you will need a torch to be able to see properly, and you must route the wires so that they do not interfere with the pedals. I took mine right underneath the dash, past the centre console, into the passenger side which is why I said to take out the panel with the glovebox.