rebuilding 4efte?

my engine has lost compression on cylinder 2 suspected ring or piston failure.

how much am I looking to rebuild the engine

pistons.rings ect I've never done this before so no clue. havent a big budget so cant forge it

Full Engine gasket kit geniune

Cam belt kit

Water pump

Oil pump

Piston rings

ACL bearing kit

Head skimmed

Valves reseated

Block honed

Might have missed a few bits here but this is what your looking at mate, this is what I did after oil pump fail on mine. My pistons were still like new and only 6 months old so they were fine 👍

All this was around £600 but you might aswell do it while engine is out then you got a mint engine again

Then on top of this you have your running in oil, coolant fluid, gear box oil

another engine bites the dust, lol. i have just had machine work done to mine ( rebore, block deck, reground crank, drilled fly for 5e build, pistons and rods machined and oil filter housing drilled) for £365. but its the bits afterwards that cost money.

getting 2nd hand pistons in my eyes are a waste of time, because they are getting old and wont be long before you are back to square 1. when you are going to the hassle of doing a rebuild, just go and get a set of forged pistons and rods, that way the engine (shouldnt) need touching again.

the money i hav wasted on rebuilding stock engines i could of built 2 forged motors.

^^^ ha ha sooo tru that is

also there is nothing wrong with using in tolerance used pistons my daily engine is rebuild with used 4efte pistons that did 280.000km or 180.ooo miles and is working great pistons dont wear out easy they could go for 500.000km even more just measure the rinng and scirts

Edited by 5e colin

I havent the budget for foged stuff and need car on road asap for work