Complete Noob here, never worked on a car before but always wanted to do everything myself on my car and progress and learn by doing everything myself. We've all got to start somewhere...

Anyway, i Fitted a Ripspeed air filter to my starlet, chav i know and when i first did it this is what it looked like...

286146_10150252750050846_716540845_7971391_3165449_o.jpg

Ignore the actual air filter for the moment, but basicly where the bracket was for the old box for the old filter, is where that black filter is, if your following, i moved it from the back of the engine bay to where the bracket is for the old filter to allow the room for the new one, and when i did this the gear linkage in my car became very sticky, and if i was in neutral and moved the gear stick left or right, it would stay left or right, it wouldent spring back into place.

Anyway, (This is hard to explain as i dont have a picture) Ill get one up tomorrow, but basicly i put the old air filter back, but without the top half of the box and without the old air filter, so the Ripspeed air filter is still on there, but its resting on top of the old air filter box. so if you just picture a standard starlet engine, without the top half of the box of the air filter being on, and without the air filter being inside it, but with the new air filter resting on top, so there is cold air coming through and it is being sucked up underneath, this allowed me to put back the other filter or whatever it is, where it is supposed to be (the one that was hanging on the old bracket of the air filter)

BASICLY