How to I change a Drive Belt/Power Steering Belt

I know this is a simple job in most peoples eyes, but i'm a complete novice with engines and if i'm gonna move on from n/a power in the future i don't want to be so don't laugh :D

Basically my car has got to the point where it is religiously squeeling and very embarrasing. It's currently on 93k+ and the drive belt was last changed at 74, it appears to be in good condition, but has been tightened twice to it's maximum point in the past 10'000 (not by me)

The second time it went back to normal after a day. I have both belts already to change, but i'm hoping it's not the alternator. If so i'll worry about it after changing the belts.

Questions are, can someone tell me how to do it? what tools I will need? and ideally does anyone have any pictures? because i'm not so good with words half the time. Thankyou

if the alternator belt has been adjusted alot, it may be the adjuster thats coming loose, i know my mx5 was doing this alot recently and i had to put all new bolts in as they were shagged and kept rattling loose :/

it is fairly easy though dude, as above, just have a good look at the bolts and figure out whats easiest for you to get to them etc, go make a cuppa, have a strategy planned, then get cracking :)

just make sure you put the right belts on, the larger of the belts is the power steering i think.

also dont forget to put the alternator belt around the water pump belt too fella as the alternator and water pump pulleys run from the same belt (closest to the engine) then the power steering belt goes out the smaller of the crank pulleys but it is the larger belt

dont think i have any pics but if i had a starlet id take some for you lol

right i know the engine isnt in the car, and the power steering pump isnt actually attatched, but its all i have to work with :)

wrench-1.jpg

the pink arrows are pointing to the main mounting point of the alternator and power steering pump - these need to be slackened 1st