Lower than normal boost! What to do?

Hello there everyone, i have abit of a tech question. I have used your brill search engine to find previous topics on this subject but non of them were specific to my problem (Please prove me otherwise) I have recently become the owner of a starlet glanza and working on stats i've picked up from here about the cars i've noticed that my pressure on my boost gauge (Swoosh) is only running 0.6 bar. And thats all the way through the rev range. It definately wasnt in low boost mode. And i wasn't in 1st or 2nd gear. Now i have an adjustable boost knob but i didnt want to start playin with that just yet. Is it ok to just turn it up bit by bit to see if it is that. Assuming i dont see a result from that it means i could have a boost leak from somewhere (Please correct me if im wrong) Everything else on the car is sound. Apologies i am a noob, but you gotto start somewhere

well mine only boosts to .6-.65 bar and mines on a greddy boost gauge.

i thought that was the correct boost pressure?

i think if you have a boost leak you'll find it will over-boost, well thats the problem i had anyway.

No that's about right mate:

LO boost mode should run about 0.35BAR

HI boost mode should run about 0.65BAR

It could be where you've plummed in your gauge. The fact it's holding that boost all the way through the rev range is actually quite a good point. It means you're not suffering from boost creep and it's building full boost quickly.

Right now since I've fitted my FMIC (due to the slightly longer piping and pressure drop across the core) I'm only running 0.3BAR in LO though.

Overboost is basically when you near the factory set fuel cut limit -- 0.93BAR(approx) If you go over this point you'll hit fuel cut unless you have an FCD installed.