Opinions on Jobs

I am a fully qualified panel beater by trade, i can do the job and have been in the business 7 years, unfortunately over the past year and a bit i have been being used for driving and "the cure for everyone elses lazyness" I've been being given promises from my manager that he wants to train me up to be an estimator which would be cool, but hes full of shit.

Today i was asked to go for an interview at another bodyshop, with promise of more training and an opportunity to improve my skills.

The question is, do i go for the interview? Hold out for the promises my boss has given me or look for something completly different?

you go for the interview for practice, take it out of your annual leave ofcourse and it will be worth the experience.

then if you get offered the post in the new place you go back to your manager or preferrable the ultimate boss, and say ive been offered a post elsewhere to progress my career, BUT i would be happy to stay if i can have a payrise and insurances regarding my future, and then explain the sort of training/progression you want to see.

PS do you keep recorded time for tasks in the panel beating industry?

if so what is your percentage efficiency ?

Phil

Go go for the interview and speak to your boss tell him your not happy at work and if things don't change your going to have to start looking for other jobs might make him come good if he thinks you are looking to leave or it could go the other way and he could say fine get another job plenty of people looking work these days

Edited by Whitenoize

you go for the interview for practice, take it out of your annual leave ofcourse and it will be worth the experience.