Just bought a Starlet as a runabout- any hints and tips?

Hello all,

I am a newbie here and bought a very cheap Starlet as a runaround while I fix my classic cars. (One needs a lot of work for the MOT and t'other was hit a week ago and is awaiting insurance repair).

I am going to pick the car up this lunch time it is a 1996 Starlet 2-door sportif. I am a competent DIY enthusiast on classic cars and would appreciate any maintainance tips- things to check for and do to ensure my runabout remains reliable. What manual to buy (is the Haynes any good for this model) and where to get parts should I need any?

many thanks for reading this

cheers

John

You wont be disappointed with it aslong as it's been kept well, I have a Sportif myself and you shouldn't find any problems with it, there are hardly any electrical goodies so there should be no electrical problems, the engines are mostly bulletproof aslong as they have been maintained so no problems there either.

If you are interested in modding it check out the technical section there's loads of info in there.

How many miles are on it just out of interest?

You wont be disappointed with it aslong as it's been kept well, I have a Sportif myself and you shouldn't find any problems with it, there are hardly any electrical goodies so there should be no electrical problems, the engines are mostly bulletproof aslong as they have been maintained so no problems there either.

If you are interested in modding it check out the technical section there's loads of info in there.

How many miles are on it just out of interest?

Thanks for the quick reply!

Bullet proof reliabillity- thats what I'm hoping for while I fix my other cars. I just wanted a basic reliable cheap transport to keep me going.

It's done 89,000 miles, but there are a lot of service history stamps in the book- the car was serviced earlier this year and the cam belt changed two years ago. Engine sounds sweet and the car drove nicely.

cheers

John

:o