URGENT HELP NEEDED!!

So I picked up a Glanza yesterday from Paignton in Cornwall. Its running a 5efe engine with the standard CT9 turbo (running 0.3bar on Max boost as it needs a map)

All was well when we started the long drive home, then suddenly the engine started to smell really hot. The overheating warning light came on and the engine refused to keep revving. After letting her cool down I tried turning her over, at which point the engine started sounding more like a tractor than a turbo Toyota...

We trailered it home thanks to the RAC (and Rivermead Recovery who are absolute life savers!!!) And now it'll turn over okay. It just sounds extremely rough when its revved and really doesn't sound healthy.

Anybody on here had a similar problem who could shed some light? I'm new to the whole JDM/Turbo engine scene so could use a hand lol. Mechanic reckons it could be the Big End or something similar??

Any help would be appreciated, I'll try and get some sort of video of it running rough if it'd help diagnosis.

I'm super gutted, as the car itself will be great once fixed up, and I refuse to sell it lol.

Thanks in advance!

You picked up a starlet yesterday and this happens? Why does this keep happening to people go and buy a starlet next thing you know the engines fucked, and that doesn't sound right at all mate I feel for you

Do you know if the person that sold the car to you is a trader, On the side, or was he a genuine private seller? Had they had the car very long, is there anything that you might thing they new the engine was on its way out, you say he has got another engine?, if you don't get anything back from them you should seek professional advice, only problem is if private sell it is hard to get anything back but not impossible all the time.