Hi Peoples,

i purchased myself a 4EFTE at the weekend that had a poorly Head Gasket, and i am planning on rebuilding it as much as possible for the GT Turbo Shell i have!

this may sound crazy to anyone who knows me, but for those who dont... i have no mechanical experience at all! lol i will be doing it all in my garden shed and will be relying solely on friends, you folks and the internets to fix it!

so just to warn you, please expect alot of WTF is this part posts :)

Work is to commence this saturday morning, and i will be removing the head ready for skimming, as i have looked at a few guides and it doesnt look too hard! LOL

first question... What tools will i need?

Regards,

Nathan

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

best of luck with it mate!

tools... hmm.. you will need alot of them... lol.

i got two socket sets... lol

this will be a good test of the "How To" Section!

i have alot of friends in the motor trade that have said theyd help out!

you will want

10mm socket + ring spanner for the cam caps

12mm (i think may be 14mm) for the cam pully

no:9 star drive for the head bolts, tm-developments.com sell em for £9 i think and dave ships parts quick as fook!

and thats it head will be off :)

personaly i use a big bit of card board and mark out where every thing has come from and what way it faced as when rebuilding, a cap in the wrong place or a shim in the wrong bucket and your fucked lol. drop me a pm when you have it all apart and ill pm you some realy good links and guides to help you through your build bud. isnt too hard tbh.

theres a really good video guide buy someone off tgtt. a foreign guy. im sure the links were posted on here somewhere. ill have a look and post them. they helped me rebuild my bottom end and id never done it before.