Air filter in wrong place?

So today I had to have my windscreen replaced as I had the pleasure of a rock cracking it a few days ago. I come back and the guy starts telling me off saying that my air filter is located in the wrong place? (Sorry I'm still learning the engine side of things and it was in this place when I got it). The pink is courtesy of me :)

If this is the case can someone tell/show me where it should be and how I would re-locate it there?

CA439FE7-orig_zps216dfbee.jpg

Problem is, mine still has a/c. Got a fmic sitting in the shed, but haven't made a decision about binning the a/c yet, or buying a new rad. I'm not sure where I could currently fit it at the front lol

Thats fine, there's a reason he's fitting windscreens and not working on cars by the sounds of things. But sure it may be better off at the front but you have a very oem set up so would find it hard to route it and tbf it looks quiet damn tidy as it is!

Thanks guys! I did find him a touch insulting if I'm honest, but get that a lot being a girl when it comes to cars! TurboTobz, thanks for the compliment, still stuff to be done but she is getting there slowly :)

Having it there reduces the chance of boost creep in my experience too.

this.

this is where the OEM system is, however, what the windscreen guy was getting at is the fact that, as it has no cold air feed, it will be sucking in warm air front the engine bay as there is no heat shield around the cone. however, as Mike has already pointed out, positioning it where you have (which is the same as I have done with mine) provides a more stable boost as its less likely to swallow a giant gulp of freezing cold air as it would if it was stuck out at the bumper.

some folk have their preferences, me I prefer safe, reliable, consistent boost, not the fear of a spike which will do more damage than the warmer air the filter gets in that location.